Home

I’m working on an essay concerning the Holy Spirit, which (you can imagine) is not “a piece of cake.”  After all, theologians far more abled, knowledgeable, and (frankly) reflective than I have ventured the doctrine of the Holy Spirit before me and have fallen short.  Although, when the subject is God anyone will fail to fully traverse such vistas of knowledge.  That being so, I have no predilections for the skill of my study of the subject.  However, I humbly hope that it may serve some benefit to the few readers I have, and it will, no doubt, serve to deepen my own understanding of the Holy Spirit.

Anyway, since I am trying to put some focus on that paper, I have foregone posting on some subjects that I would otherwise love to consider.  However, so that my little blog will not start developing virtual cobwebs, I am posting a link to Tim Keller‘s 2008 lecture at Stanford University, which I came across today.

Tim Keller, is the founding pastor of Redeemer Presbyterian Church in New York City.  His unique ministry setting (i.e. New York City) has afforded him experiences with all kinds of various worldviews, positions of faith, and perspectives.  These experiences, of course, have thus given him a great opportunity and (consequently) ability to dialogue with other faith perspectives in an engaging and loving way.

Having authored a growing number of books, Keller has quickly become a respected and balanced voice in Christian and non-Christian communities.  His reasonable yet compassionate and pastoral approach to matters of faith and life has attracted many of this up-and-coming generation.  Furthermore, the fact that Tim Keller is not some “back-woods” preacher, but rather in the center of a cultural melting pot like New York City, his message (and the heart behind it) well respects and considers the various beliefs and attitudes that are present in the world today.  He has been nothing but helpful for me.  I, therefore, commend him and this lecture on his best-selling book, The Reason for God: Belief in an Age of Skepticism.


Watch it here!  You can also watch the Q&A that followed here.
Leave a Reply

