baldwin’s nigger

Let me come right out the gate and say that James Baldwin was one cool muthaf#&*!  I love this guy.  His trenchant insights on race, sexuality, civil rights, and the human condition – all wrapped up in soulful tones – are so engaging and inspiring.  Anytime I read his work or listen to audio clips from his presentations, I feel as though his words command my attentiveness.  I must reflect on what he has to say and how it relates to the world in which I find myself.

What’s more, Baldwin’s work is prophetic (in the most robust sense), because he not only spoke with lucidity and precision into the dark matters of his own day but his words resonate powerfully today, judging, informing, and molding our socio-civil concerns of unrest and injustice.

The video below is from a 1969 presentation he made in London.  He speaks about the state and situation of blacks in America and what that means more broadly (geographically speaking) and more profoundly (existentially speaking).

As Michael Ondaatje remarked, “If Van Gogh was our 19th-century artist-saint, James Baldwin is our 20th-century one.”

Enjoy – seriously…enjoy!

Cheers

Leave a Reply

