Home

I swear by the declining day that perdition shall be the lot of man, except for those who have faith and do good deeds; who exhort each other to justice and to fortitude. – The Qur’an (Surah 103)

I don’t really have a lot to say about this; I just really like this Surah.  It’s so poetic – “I swear by the declining day….”  That’s so visually keen.  Plus, this Surah is somewhat prophetic in its claims.  It teaches – I should be careful, here, because I’m not at all adept in Qur’anic studies – that a faith in a deeper reality of goodness, a will to do justice, and a courage that stands in the face of evil will dispel the darkness and descent of humanity.

No matter what you feel about religion (I think it is absolutely indispensable to humanity), it’s hard not to agree with Muhammad’s words – or, at least, the idea of them.  For have we not seen that when societies and communities raise up faithless – not in the strictly religious sense – people, who never tire to act upon greed, hatred, neglect, and injustice; who cower in the face of evil and oppression, that perdition surely follows? …”but for those who have faith and do good deeds; who exhort each other to justice and fortitude” there is a better reality; a better city; a better kingdom.

I’m not a Muslim, but when I study Islam – for all its misguided caricaturizations (even by Muslims) – I find some pretty dope things.

Cheers.

P.S. Just in case anyone was wondering, or a student of the Qur’an sees this post and is ready to correct me, the featured image of this post is not – I don’t think – the actual text of Surah 103.  I just thought it was a neat and relevant image.

Leave a Reply

